Long Island Divorce Attorney
Call Today! 516.688.0088
Same sex divorce in New York

Same sex divorce in New York

New York has not passed a law which allows for same sex marriage. However, pursuant to recent case law, New York does recognize a same sex marriage validly entered into in another state. Today, five states have successfully legitimized same sex marriage, specifically; Connecticut, Iowa, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Vermont, plus Washington D.C.

New York state recognizes same sex marriages from these five states under the Full Faith and Credit Clause in regard to divorce. Therefore, a couple who is married in one of these five states, who meets the residency requirements in New York state to obtain a divorce, can be divorced in the state of New York. In October of 2010, a New York State Supreme Court granted C.C. and C. M. a divorce after they met the residency requirement of living in New York State for 6 months and were married in Massachusetts, thus a valid marriage.

This area of the law is new and is still being explored. However, the issues which exist in heterosexual divorce are similar in a homosexual divorce, for example, custody, equitable distribution, maintenance, and child support. Thus, it is imperative when considering your options in same-sex divorce to speak with a lawyer.


Contact Us Today

All Consultations are Free and Confidential
    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.